AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards

Par l’AJSPI (non vérifié) le lun 11/5/15 - 10:45

Dear Journalist:

The AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards are now global. A doubling of the endowment by The Kavli Foundation allows us to open the competition for the first time to journalists from around the world in each of the eight reporting categories. We also have increased the dollar amount of the awards and will present two awards in each category: a Gold award worth $5,000 and a Silver award worth $3,500.

Entries for the 2015 competition are now being accepted online. Please read the contest rules and Frequently Asked Questions before submitting. The deadline for submissions is August 1, 2015. Entries must have been published, broadcast or posted online during the contest year: July 1, 2014 to July 15, 2015.


Submit Online


Deadline 1 August 2015
Contest rules, submission procedures, and frequently asked questions are also available online.

The awards program, now in its 70th year, recognizes outstanding reporting for a general audience and honors individuals for coverage of the sciences, engineering, and mathematics. Stories on the environment, energy, science policy, and health qualify if they deal in a substantive way with underlying science. Independent committees of journalists select the winning entries.

The contest is administered by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). The awards will be presented at the AAAS Annual Meeting in February 2016 in Washington, D.C. The award covers travel and lodging expenses for winners in each category.

The categories:
·  Large Newspaper (circulation of 150,000 or more, daily or weekly)
·  Small Newspaper (circulation of less than 150,000, daily or weekly)
·  Magazine
·  TV - Spot News/Feature Reporting
·  TV - In-Depth Reporting
·  Radio
·  Online
·  Children's Science News (reporting on science for children, including young teens up to age 14)

For questions, contact:


AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards
Samedi 1 Août 2015 (Jour entier)